If You Liked This, Try… #2

If You Liked this, Try...

Hiya!

It’s back and just the same as ever! I love reading these types of posts and I adored the first one I wrote, and clearly, you guys did too because it is one of my most viewed posts so I thought I would do another since I was reading a book the other day and was like…oh this kind of reminds me of that book! And hence this blog post idea was birthed.

And if you hadn’t read my previous post (linked HERE) and you don’t know what the premise of this is basically I select a couple of books that are similar in the ways of X, Y and Z and it gives you a way of finding books that are similar to some of your faves while also giving you a rough guide of what I thought of the books too, without having to read a full review.

Today is mildly different because instead of one book being similar to another it’s more like two books that had a book baby which is this other book and I recommend all three greatly whether you have read any of the others or not! So let’s get right into this book triangle of similarities:

The first is one that if you are a frequent reader of my blog then you will know if probably my favourite book series of all time! The Lynburn Legacy Series by Sarah Rees Brennan.
The next is one I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned on my channel despite being one of the first ever book series that I actually completed, The Gallagher Girls Series by Ally Carter.
And the last one is the most recent read that started all of this, Struck by Joss Stirling.

Similarities: I am imagining this as like a family where TLL is the dad, TGG is the mum and Struck is their perfect baby which combines the best of both, plus added extras to create something incredible.
They are all similar in the way that they are all set in England which is different because normally things of this nature are set in the US so a nice change, they also all have an American outcast as one of the main protagonists. (looking back maybe TGG doesn’t but I have a feeling it does)
I can’t really remember the humour in TGG books but the other two definitely run along a similar vein which is great because I was in fits of giggles during both.
I think Struck is similar to TGG in the way that they are both set in boarding schools. They also both have child spy plot lines and I adore books like this so that was great. TLL also as a wee bit of spying in it but it’s more mystery solving rather than spying for the government like the other two…but the similarity is still there. They all have an adorable romance circulating the plot but not overpowering it which makes me so happy because I have literally hit a stage where I can’t read a book without a romance. They are all also series, but while TGG and TLL is a continuing story that spans multiple books, Struck a series where each book revolves around a different plot but with side characters from the previous books if that makes sense.

Here are the descriptions for the first book of each series*:
*SIDENOTE – while I enjoyed TGG I didn’t really like the first book and it definitely gets better book #2 and #4 being my favourites. The first book does still fit with the similarities though.

TLL: Kami Glass loves someone she’s never met… a boy she’s talked to in her head ever since she was born. She wasn’t silent about her imaginary friend during her childhood, unspoken and is thus a bit of an outsider in her sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Still, Kami hasn’t suffered too much from not fitting in. She has a best friend, runs the school newspaper, and is only occasionally caught talking to herself. Her life is in order, just the way she likes it, despite the voice in her head.
But all that changes when the Lynburns return.
The Lynburn family has owned the spectacular and sinister manor that overlooks Sorry-in-the-Vale for centuries. The mysterious twin sisters who abandoned their ancestral home a generation ago are back, along with their teenage sons, Jared and Ash, one of whom is eerily familiar to Kami. Kami is not one to shy away from the unknown—in fact, she’s determined to find answers for all the questions Sorry-in-the-Vale is suddenly posing. Who is responsible for the bloody deeds in the depths of the woods? What is her own mother hiding? And now that her imaginary friend has become a real boy, does she still love him? Does she hate him? Can she trust him?

TGG: Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school – that is if every school taught advanced martialIf I tell you I love you then I'd have to kill you.PNG arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it’s really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real “pavement artist”-but can she manoeuvre a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?
Cammie Morgan may be an elite spy-in-training, but in her sophomore year, she’s on her most dangerous mission-falling in love.

Struck: Behind the ivy-clad walls of an exclusive boarding school, lurks a sinister web of corruption, scandal, and conspiracy. American student Raven Stone has noticedStruck something is horribly wrong. First, there were the unexplained disappearances. Then there were the teachers’ lies. And now the death threats …Also entangled in the disturbing turn of events is the enigmatic Kieran Storm – a fellow student with a killer intellect and a body to die for. He’s heading for trouble and taking her with him. Raven can feel herself falling in love, but can she trust a boy she knows almost nothing about?

So, have you read any of these books…if so do you agree with me? I loved them all,  obviously, TLL is my favourite, Struck next followed by TGG series. I again obviously recommend them all and think you should read them no matter what and then come back and tell me whether you think they are similar. I hope you have a good week 🙂

Thanks and Happy Reading,

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “If You Liked This, Try… #2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s